News & Announcements

View Archives
MSPRA Announces Award Winners

Dr. Robert Shaner, superintendent of Rochester Community Schools, is this year's Superintendent Communicator of the Year.  

Keely Baribeau, communications director at Port Huron Schools, is the Gerri Allen Outstanding School Communicator of the Year.

The Rochester Community Schools "RCS Stakeholders Are Safe, Valued and Respected" initiative has received a Gold Medallion Award.  

Congratulations to all!  For more details, see the.Awards page.

October 11, 2019
60th Anniversary Greeting from NSPRA
MSPRA is an Exemplary Chapter
Only one of six in the nation

MSPRA has been named an Exemplary Chapter of the National School Public Relations Association (NSPRA) for the 10th year in a row! Only six NSPRA chapters were so honored this year. The recognition is a wonderful birthday gift as our members continue to celebrate our 60th Anniversary. This achievement is the result of winning two Mark of Distinction Awards, one for Professional Development and one for Collaboration. Michigan is the only chapter to receive two awards. MSPRA leaders will receive the awards at NSPRA's Annual Seminar in Washington, D.C. in July.

Mark of Distinction

MSPRA is proud to have earned the following National School Public Relations Association Marks of Distinction as an Exemplary Chapter:


  • Year-round Program
  • Coalition Building


  • Year-round Program


  • Year-round Program


  • Year-round Program


  • Year-round Program


  • Year-long Program


  • Professional Development/PR Skill-Building


  • Professional Development/PR Skill-Building