new school communicator AWard

SUBMIT NOMINEES FOR the "GERRI ALLEN OUTSTANDING SCHOOL COMMUNICATOR AWARD" by June 30, 2017. (please note the extended deadline.)

The Gerri Allen Outstanding School Communicator Award from the Michigan School Public Relations Association will annually recognize a practicing Public Relations professional in a public school, district, educational agency, service center, or intermediate unit for outstanding leadership in school public relations and communications.

This is meant to provide a platform for working PR professionals and members of the school community to recognize leaders in the school PR field and thank them for their service of advancing education through responsible communication. The Outstanding School Communicator Form  and accompanying materials are due by June 30, 2017. The winner and nominator will be recognized at the annual MSPRA conference. Help us recognize those who share what is right about public education by nominating a school PR professional today.



The MSPRA Board would like to recognize and congratulate Mr. Jamie Cain, Superintendent of Port Huron Schools, for being selected this year's Outstanding Superintendent!  Cain created a dedicated Communications Department for Port Huron Schools, hiring a first-ever Director of Community Relations and Marketing. He has worked closely and consistently with the Director and local media across all platforms to create a clear, cohesive and accessible voice for the school district.
Mr. Cain was hired by Port Huron Schools’ Board of Education in 2014 after serving four years as superintendent in neighboring Marysville School District.  Brought in as a “change agent,” Cain and his leadership team developed an actionable guide to the district’s new mission, vision, and goals for success, called “Blueprint for Success.” 



Congratulations to our 2016 Communications Contest award winners!!!  On behalf of the MSPRA Board, the 2016 Contest Committee and judges, thank you for allowing us to review your outstanding work! Here is the complete list  of this year's winners.  If you would like to review this year's entries, please visit FRED and select the MSPRA 2016 Communications Contest folder.
Congratulations to all our winners! 




New School Communicator Award AvailableGA School Communicator Plaque Wording (1)

The MSPRA Board presented this award to MSPRA Executive Director Gerri Allen at the March 2017 MSPRA Conference. 


 2016 Superintendent Communicator

Jamie Cain

Port Huron Area Schools Superintendent Jamie Cain (center) accepts his award from MSPRA Board members Keely Baribeau, left , and Rebecca Fannon (right).


Communication Contest Award History

PDF Document2014 Award Winners
PDF Document2015 Award Winners
PDF Document2016 Award Winners